Laboratory for Atmospheres 2003 Technical Highlights: Appendix B8. 2003 Awards/Honors/Memberships/Editorships

William Nordberg Memorial Award for Earth Science

Presented November 14, 2003

Pawan K. Bhartia/Code 916 received this prestigious award for his outstanding leadership, pioneering, and long-lasting contributions to atmospheric science and technology.

2002-2003 GSFC Honor Awards

Presented July 23, 2003

Award of Merit

Charles E. Cote/Code 910 received this award for truly exemplary technical and management accomplishments extending over 40 years of service.

Earth Science Achievement

Wei-Kuo Tao/Code 912 received this award for outstanding scientific achievements in advancing understanding of precipitation cloud systems and the remote sensing of precipitation and latent heating profiles from space.

Exceptional Achievement

David O. Starr/Code 912 received this award for exceptional achievement in scientific design, development, and operational execution of the highly successful Cirrus Regional Study of Tropical Anvils and Cirrus Layers Florida Area Cirrus Experiment field mission CRYSTAL-FACE).

Exceptional Achievement

Andrew J. Negri/Code 912 received this award in recognition of his many years of service to the Earth Sciences Directorate in scientific research, budget matters, and general administrative activities.

GSFC Annual Awards of Excellence

Presented October 22, 2003

Excellence in Outreach

Richard Stewart/Code 916

Secretarial and Clerical Excellence

Natalie Simms/Code 910

NASA Honor Awards

Presented August 27, 2003

Exceptional Scientific Achievement Medal

Wei-Kuo Tao/Code 912

Public Service Medal

John C. Maurer/University of Michigan (working with Code 915)

NASA Group Awards

NASA Group Achievement Award for GOES ABI formulation

Dennis Chesters/Code 912

NASA Group Achievement Award to CRYSTAL-FACE Science Team

David O. Starr/Code 912

Wei-Kuo Tao/Code 912

Thomas Rickenbach/Code 912

Si-Chee Tsay/Code 913

Steve Platnick/Code 913

NASA Group Achievement Award to EOS Aqua Mission Team

David O. Starr/Code 912

Steve Platnick/Code 913

GSFC Group Awards

GSFC Group Achievement Award for Outstanding Teamwork to EOS Aqua Mission Team

David O. Starr/Code 912

Yoram Kaufman/Code 913

Lorraine Remer/Code 913

Steve Platnick/Code 913

Outside Awards

The Technology Museum Environmental Laureate

James Spinhirne/Code 912


Robert F. Cahalan/Code 913

Editors' Citation for Excellence in Refereeing for JGR-Atmospheres at the Fall AGU

Thomas Bell/Code 913

Special Act Award for Collaboration with the U.S. Forest Service

Lorraine Remer/Code 913

Education Webby Award (International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences)

People's Voice Award (International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences)

David Herring (Earth Observatory Group)/Code 913, SSAI

Special NASA Awards

NASA OES Special Act Award

Nominated for Presidential Early Career Award

J. Marshall Shepherd/Code 912


American Meteorological Society

Robert F. Adler/Code 910

Robert M. Atlas/Code 910

AGU Fellow

Anne M. Thompson/Code 916


Editor, AMS Journal of Atmospheric Sciences

Wei-Kuo Tao/Code 912

Associate Editor, Journal of Hydrometeorology

George Huffman/Code 912

Associate Editor, Journal of Atmospheric Sciences

David O. Starr/Code 912

Associate Editor, Journal of Geophysical Research -Atmospheres

Andrew Dessler/Code 916

Panels and Commissions

Secretary, International Commission on Clouds and Precipitation

David O. Starr/Code 912

Chair, AGU Atmospheric Science/Committee on Precipitation and Cloud

Wei-Kuo Tao/Code 912

Member of NOAA/NCEP Weather Research and Forecast Science Board

Wei-Kuo Tao/Code 912

Chairman, AMS Committee on Laser Atmospheric Studies

Geary Schwemmer/Code 912

Chair, International Commission on Atmospheric Chemistry and Global Pollution

Member-At-Large, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Atmospheric and Hydrospheric Section

Anne M. Thompson/Code 916

Co-chair since 1996 of the International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy Working Group II.D, "External Forcing of the Middle Atmosphere"

Charles H. Jackman/Code 916

Chairman of the Committee on Earth Observation Satellites (CEOS) Cal/Val Working Groups Subgroup on Atmospheric Chemistry

Ernest Hilsenrath/Code 916